Yogasutras of Patanjali Web Series – Video 11

Yogasutras of Patanjali Web Series – Video 11

Patanjali Yogasutra –  Samadhi Pada – Sutra 1.5

वृत्तयः पञ्चतय्यः क्लिष्ट अक्लिष्टाश्चः ॥१.५॥

॥1.5॥ Vṛttayaḥ pañcatayyaḥ kliṣṭa akliṣṭāśca

॥1.5॥ The modifications of the mind are five-fold and are painful and non-painful.

  • vruttayaha = these modifications are
  • panchatayaha = five fold
  • klishta = painful
  • aklishtaaha = non-painful

Practical Application of sutra no 1.5:

Sage Patanjali has categorised our innumerable fluctuations of mind into merely 5 categories. This gives us relief and hope that we can move from scattered to gathered to one pointed mind in this life time.

Also don’t forget to get our Udemy Course on Patanjali Yogasutras in 4 Hrs

Udemy will provide you with a Completion of Course Certifcate.